Tag Archives: demolished

Lost Heritage: The Carnegie Library

The Carnegie Library replaced Neelgharies house, bequethed to the council by Emily Dowling, second wife of George Sparkes. She had required the site to be used to benefit and better the townspeople. The generous philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie, provided funds to … Continue reading

Posted in Historic_Buildings, Lost Heritage | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on Lost Heritage: The Carnegie Library

Bromley Town Centre Park Trail – Stop 9/1 (Gatehouse & Palace Farm)

To continue the Heritage Trail, go down the alleyway, and when it emerges onto Rochester Avenue, turn right into the former civic centre. Cross the car park diagonally to the large beech tree. Just down the old Carriage Drive is St Blaise’s Well. Continue reading

Posted in Item in the Parks Heritage Trail | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on Bromley Town Centre Park Trail – Stop 9/1 (Gatehouse & Palace Farm)

Bromley Town Centre Park Trail – Stop 2/2 (Old Homeopathy Hospital)

To continue the Heritage Trail, walk through the Glades shopping centre, then in Market Square, turn left down the High Street until you reach the Churchill Theatre, just past there turn under the arch into Library Gardens. Continue reading

Posted in Item in the Parks Heritage Trail | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on Bromley Town Centre Park Trail – Stop 2/2 (Old Homeopathy Hospital)

Lost Heritage: High Street No. 117, former Importers Coffee House

Importers coffee was a Georgian building in the site occupied now by Burger King. It was a beloved shop, which many people remember for the aroma of coffee that drifted down the High Street. At that time, shops that sold … Continue reading

Posted in Historic_Buildings, Lost Heritage, Reminisciences | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Lost Heritage: High Street No. 117, former Importers Coffee House

North St: The National School or The Parish School on North Street – Lost Heritage

The Parish school, then known as the National School, was built on the corner of North Street and College Road, in 1854.  The building was especially designed for it, by the eminent architect James Piers St Aubyn, who also designed … Continue reading

Posted in HG Wells locations, Lost Heritage, the Cage Field triangle streets, named after compass points | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on North St: The National School or The Parish School on North Street – Lost Heritage

Lost Heritage: Widmore Road Demolished – Homeopathy Hospital

Homeopathy was a popular treatment in Bromley, starting in 1865  when part of the White Hart Inn was opened as a homeopathic dispensary, and when it outgrew this accommodation,  Bromley’s first homeopathic hospital opened in 1889 at 19 Widmore Road.  … Continue reading

Posted in Lost Heritage, the Cage Field triangle streets, named after compass points | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Lost Heritage: Widmore Road Demolished – Homeopathy Hospital